Posted February 01, 2019 07:15:56Some states have some of the strictest gun laws in the country, and others, like Illinois, have some fairly lenient gun laws.
But some states are not as restrictive, and some, like New York, are very restrictive.
So, what do you need to know about New York and Illinois to be able to protect yourself in those states?
What are some of New York’s most restrictive gun laws?
The following states have very strict concealed carry laws:The following are some states with some of Illinois’ most lenient concealed carry regulations:What is a concealed carry license?
A concealed carry licence is a state-issued driver’s licence or concealed handgun permit.
The permit is valid for up to 12 months and entitles you to carry a firearm in New York State and Illinois, or a firearm with you in any other state.
The most important part of a concealed weapon permit is the serial number.
If you don’t have one, you can get one at a gun store.
New York State’s most common form of a firearm permit is a one-year “permit to carry” card, issued by New York state police.
These permits are valid for a limited period of time.
They are valid only in New NY state.
In Illinois, you have two types of licenses:A “permission to carry”, which allows you to use a gun while driving, is also known as a “license to carry”.
The permit you need must be issued by a state government agency.
You need to renew a “permanent” permit, which is a “licence to carry for a term of years”.
You must have your New York firearm licence number on file with the state.
If you are under 21, you must have a “non-transferable” firearm license, which requires a parent or guardian to sign off on the application.
If a New York resident or legal resident does not have a valid firearm license number on hand, a New Yorker who is 21 years old or older can get a gun permit.
If your New Yorker does not meet the “requirement”, they may apply for a “transferable licence”, which is basically a “temporary permit” for up a year or two.
A transferable licence is not valid for more than one year.
If they are issued for more time than that, they become invalid.
In some states, New Yorkers can get “restricted” licenses, which allow them to carry firearms in certain situations.
Restricted licenses are issued by the state for specific purposes, and do not allow you to go out with a gun, as long as you are at least 21 years of age.
A restricted license is valid only for one year, and expires on January 1, 2021.
A New Yorker can apply for an “assault weapon” permit that allows them to go hunting or target shooting with a rifle or shotgun.
These permit holders are also not allowed to go anywhere with a firearm other than to their designated firing range.
The “assault weapons” permit also has a limited lifetime, so you can’t bring it out with you.
New Yorkers can apply to get a “firearm accessory permit” that allows for concealed carry on a firearm.
These weapons are not “permits”, but are simply “handguns”, which are typically smaller and lighter.
They’re also not issued by gun stores, and are valid to carry.
There are some other restrictions that New Yorkers have to be aware of, like the state’s requirement that you have a firearm training course.